Happiness is…

…right now. This. Happy happy happy!

Town was so so so nice today. None of my friends were in, and I only had two hours while my mother rushed around on her one disc, but it was lovely.

I went to Plugd first. I had a little look around. There was a DJ set going on so nice vibe about the place, but then again, there always is. I thanked Albert for his little message on the back of the CD cover, and had a chat at the counter. Then he handed me an Adam Green album, completely sealed in plastic, and said ‘You like him, right? Happy Christmas.’ So that made me happy. And I wished him a merry Christmas also, and went on my way. Like two hours is pretty short, y’know…

I really wanted a big chunky cardigan for over this dress I have so I headed to H&M first. Found a few there so I tried ’em on and I absolutely loved one. Kinda thought my mother wouldn’t like it so I hid it with a grey long sleeved top I liked and arranged to meet her there later on. I kinda don’t know what I did for a while, but went back to H&M at some stage to show her the cardigan, and SHOCK HORROR she liked it. I was seriously surprised because she usually only likes fitted things and this is pretty much as baggy as you can get.

So I went and bought it. €40 down to €20. And the guy at the counter was so nice! He had a Santa hat on and a Christmas tee and was asking me was I all ready and whatnot. We were chatting away and I told him I was going down to Kerry and it was just nice. I departed as we wished each other a merry Christmas. All shop assistants should be like that.

And then I practically ran up to my favourite coffee place in the town and had to resort to a coffee to go. When I got to the counter they were like ‘Americano?’ . ‘Of course, but it has to be to go today.’ I’d say they nearly died on the spot. And as a little Christmas present they gave me an extra stamp on my loyalty card so my next coffee is free! Woo!

Then as I rushed back to the car to meet my mother I bumped into so many lovely people, all along the one street. I had short but seriously sweet conversations with folks I could have spent hours with. It’s nice to meet nice people. That’s it, nothing else, just nice.

It was a beautiful day. And it made me realise how many million times better local businesses are than commercial chains.

Nollaig shona daoibh go léir!

Leave a comment

Filed under Christmas, town

Leave a Reply

