Now, now children…

The Lough, Cork. (Pic by BMurr, boards.ie)

That’s the Government for you. I have now experienced this so-called ‘nanny state’. I get why they have to protect the safety of the country’s citizens and not waste emergency resources and Garda time and all that. I do. I probably get that more than a lot of other people my age.

I don’t get why they had to ruin my fun. ‘Fun? Fun? Is that what you call it?’ I hear you cry. Well, here’s a crazy idea, yeah, I do believe it’s fun.

In my 17 years on this planet, the Lough in Cork has never frozen over to the extent where people can actually walk on it. I’ve heard about how it froze over before my time. I even remember my Granda telling me his own childhood stories about how he went out skating on the Lough one winter. I thought that story was so magical. In my head it was like one of those scenes from a Christmas card; one of the ones that make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside. Wow, I can’t believe I just said that.

Anyway, finally The Big Freeze comes, something I hope to tell the kids and grandkids about one day, and along with it, it brings a frozen Lough. YaY, right? Wrong. Before we can enjoy this rare event, the Council go out with a JCB and smash up the ice around the edges. Now what happens is it freezes again around the edges, only now the ice is a hell of a lot thinner, but people will still be lured out to the thicker ice towards the centre. Person steps on edge of ice, and crack, splash and aagghhhh! This is exactly what they were trying to avoid, and now look what they did?!

I accept that I am just bitter about the fact that I didn’t get out on the Lough soon enough. The smashed up Atlantic Pond too. My only hope now is the lake/pond in Fitzgerald’s Park, but shhh, don’t tell anyone..

I always have the pond in my front garden with 6 inches of ice if all else fails. Sorted.

Leave a comment

Filed under ranting

Leave a Reply

