Those weekday thoughts..

Due to the fact that I’m writing approximately 35% of the magazine, it’s a tad difficult to update the blog every evening as well. But seeing as I’m currently unable to do anything else, I’ll ramble away here for a bit.

I’m attempting to learn to drive at the moment in my mum’s lovely Corsa. I had had one lesson before Christmas (with my dad :P) and I managed to start the car, take off, and even tuned the car in my neighbour’s driveway. Then on Sunday I went out again, but the child was in the car and proved to be the biggest distraction ever. I was stalling all over the shop. Yesterday was more successful, even though it was my mum was with me. I really, really want to drive. I hate getting public transport, and it’s awful having to depend on people for lifts. It’s a need, more than a want.

About half an hour ago I went out into the utility room to go outside and walk the dogs. Only a short walk ’cause it’s dark. At the back door were two hurleys: my brother’s and mine. It’s been so long, way too long, since I’ve had it in my hands. Usually it’s a summer thing with me. In the midst of all the hype of the GAA Championship, and with the relatively good weather, my hurling skills tend to improve during the summer months. In a way, I regret never getting involved in GAA competitively, but that’s the thing I like about hurling. You can still have ‘a few pucks’ in the garden or on a beach. It’s the only part of my inner culchie that I embrace!

I’m going to apply to be a student leader for first years. We had a talk about it today and I took an application form. It involves visiting your designated first years three times a week, organising lunchtime clubs and activities, and giving tours of the school on the open night. Caroline and I were plotting how we can make our forms the best. We plan on emphasising the ‘youth’ aspect of organising all-ages gigs, this youth theatre project we did, and also our participation in Kinsale Arts Week showing how we are capable of running events. All this went against me in the bank interviews seeing as they thought I was an arty-farty hippy by the end of it, not that I cared. I quite liked that perception of me, actually.

I don’t has there ever been a more boring post by me, but I can’t think of much else to say. Unless I go for one of those emo blog posts, which were quite popular among my friends back in the days of the old blog. Sooooon…

Leave a comment

Filed under rambling

Leave a Reply

