Fashion, shopping, and clothes.

I like clothes. They make me happy, so happy. If I see someone sitting outside a café, or walking down the street, and they look good, then it makes me smile. People who look a little different to everyone else, but effortlessly pull off whatever they’re wearing. I try my best to achieve this natural look, but I know I fail. It’s all well and good to have ideas, and when you’re in a shop you might have amazing prospects for a jacket or a dress. But some clothes just look crappy after a month or so and you never wear them again. This has happened to me on numerous occasions with items from Penneys in the past, but I do believe I am improving in the picking-out-recession-beating-clothes regard.

Today I bought a hoody in H&M. I wanted a baggy one, to throw on over big t-shirts and bandage skirts. So I went for the biggest they had, a size 16. I didn’t even realise EUR42 was a size 16 until after I bought it. I showed it to my mother who was like ‘Twenty euro for a plain hoody?’. She doesn’t get my whole ‘look’ if you could even call it that. She’s probably right, but the only way I’ll learn is by making mistakes. I like big baggy t-shirts with cardigans thrown over. I like Converse and I don’t like jeans. I know this is an extremely controversial statement, but I just never really wear jeans anymore. They’re boring and safe and there’s plenty of time to wear them when you hit 40. I prefer short skirts and coloured tights.

So my big baggy hoody. I tried it on with my white I ❤ Paris t-shirt, bought in Charles de Gaulle; my black ribbed bandage skirt from Topshop, also known as my ‘piece of material’; a green and navy check scarf from Topshop, grey tights, and black flats. I like it. I know I’ll be sick of it in a few weeks, but right now I think it looks nice. It’s casual-looking, and I love anything in slate grey.

I also tried on two dresses in Penneys. One was a black tea dress with floral designs on it, but not too bright. It might have been a tad long though, I’m not sure. I also tried a black lace dress. It was a nice length and had a good voluminous skirt. I don’t know what I have that would go with it though, and I feel it may be something I could stop wearing after two weeks instead of my usual four.

I might start posting the odd photo of what I’m wearing on any given day, so that the blog isn’t completely my rambling. I think people like to look at pictures, especially of people. I’ll think about it. Taking pictures could be a tad difficult as I can be a bit fussy at times regarding photography.

Went into an amazing new shop in Cork today called Amity on French Church Street. It’s so pretty and spacious and has beautiful clothes and big changing rooms and lovely decor. I’m thinking of dragging my dear mother in there to buy me something pretty for my brother’s confirmation. How I love religion…

I think I’ll stop now. But more shopping tomorrow. Yay! 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under clothes

3 responses to “Fashion, shopping, and clothes.

  1. Isn’t Amity the best? 🙂

    Post up some pics! It’s fun 🙂

    Have you looked in New Look Opera Lane? Good prices in there. Few nice things 🙂 I must start looking in charity shops actually. I never have the patience for them but you’d find lovely bits if you really had a good poke around.

    Also, about the Penneys dress you thought was too long. Take it up! Dresses are always too long on me (due to the fact that I’m slightly vertically challenged) but I get them taken up a bit and they’re fab! 🙂

  2. I might post a few pics later as I’m stuck at home while the parents are out.

    Was only in New Look today for the first time. It’s actually really nice! Saw really nice boots downstairs which I’ll have to mention to mummy and daddy 😛

    My mum bought the black lace dress for me so I’ll probably leave the other one. And I got a maxi dress for summer, and a ‘leather’ jacket in H&M. 🙂

    Your boots are savage btw.

  3. Awh love maxi dresses but I cant wear them, i just look too tiny. Thanks a mill 🙂 Good luck with securing the boots 😀

Leave a Reply

