Happy Saturday

Today was lovely.

I gave maths in UCC a skip and went to town with my mum instead. It was a superb decision on my part I have to say. I went for coffee first with her and we met my aunt and her boyfriend.

Then we went shopping! She bought me a black lace dress, black tights, gold chains with black ribbon going through it, and a colourful maxi dress for the summer. Then in H&M she paid for half a leather-look jacket, and my aunt had given me a tenner, so I only had to spend a tenner myself then. So lots of new clothes which make me smile!

I met my friends and we went to Cork Coffee Roasters and deliberated over how to get into Passion Pit in the Savoy. White Lies wasn’t too successful last time.. I got two stamps on my card when I bought my coffee and scone..nice! Just before we left I had a quick chat with a guy who works there about a gig, another gig, and Plugd. It’s nice to know that good music ain’t dead yet. And I’m glad that feeling of Plugd being more than a record store but rather a little community is still alive.

We went to a gig in the Triskel. Cian Nugent and Boys of Summer were playing a gig in association with Plugd Records. The Triskel has moved to this old ESB building and it’s so cool in there. It’s like a warehouse or something and there’s art on the walls and it feels amazing in there. A lot of Plugd regulars were in attendance and I had a little chat with Albert and Jim and it was lovely and normal and happy again.

The white lettering over the door of Plugd was taken down during the week. It’s looks so horrible and bare now. You can still see the outline of the letters though, a faded effect, as if Plugd is like a ghost or something. It’s so weird not having it around anymore.

I saw lots of nice people in town though. One conversation had a reference to this blog, which was nice. I like to know the odd person actually reads it. Other people just waved; one gave a wave and a smile that made me feel happy inside, and outside too. He’s cute. Talked to another friend for a while. Hmm…

I’m slightly wrecked now though. That might have been caused by the walking around Bishopstown in the dark looking for my mum in her car to bring me home. She forgot her phone and I couldn’t find her. That was fun. Not.

But today was nice, so to end on a happy note, here’s a choon from Boys of Summer:

Leave a comment

Filed under today

Leave a Reply

