‘Tis been a while…

When I got back from London I realised I had so much work to catch up on. The week before we went I was only thinking about going away, and then reality hit on Monday when I saw all the homework I had never done. And we had three maths tests last week. If that doesn’t excuse me, I don’t know what will..

The past weekend was good, really good. After getting Business and Maths tests out of the way on Friday, I went home and straight to bed. Passion Pit were on in the Savoy that evening and we had three tickets between 7 or 8 of us and decided we’d head out anyway as it was a friend’s birthday. I felt a bit crappy so I popped two Paracetamol and went for a nap. setting my alarm for 6.15pm. Inevitably, I put it on snooze and didn’t get up until 7pm so there was a bit of a shower-change-pack rush going on between then and eight.

We got to town and saw the queues outside Savoy and just decided to give up there and then. A little bit of wandering the streets ensued, but that was to be expected, and after a bit we ended up in a pub. We met a few people in there, both young and old, friends and strangers, and quite a bit of Irish was spoken. Drink always brings out the cúpla focal in people.

It was a lovely, lovely evening, and we even a platter of free sandwiches for whatever reason. Seriously, how bad? Then I got word that the whole getting into Passion Pit scenario was pretty lenient, but one drink led to another and we never got there. We did give our tickets away though, for anyone who’s raving at the thought of wasted tickets.

We met some lovely, and some not so lovely people after we left the pub. Somehow, I got talking to this guy, a DJ he told me, and we joked about adding each other on Facebook. Then the following afternoon in town, who do I see DJing in the window of a shop in town, but himself from last night. We waved and laughed.. Small world, like.

Town was so nice yesterday. Cork is so cultural these days that the food stalls were out on Grand Parade and there was some Irish-y band playing and there was Art in the Park – all part of St. Patrick’s Festival as it’s called. No longer just Paddy’s Day, but here in Cork we extend it to a whole festival. Myself and Aisling got some savage ‘Gourmet Sausage Sandwiches’ from O’Flynn’s for lunch. Feckin’ delicious.

Now it’s Sunday and my head hurts and I have a cold. Which sorta sucks. But I don’t feel too bad. We went to Kinsale earlier for coffee and whatnot and now I’m shuddering at the prospect of having to start my homework. My room’s a wreck and I’ve to walk the dogs, but I think I might just say ‘Feck that’ and get lost on the Internet for a few hours.

It’s Sunday after all, and aren’t we all supposed to rest and not do anything or something?

Leave a comment

Filed under today

Leave a Reply

