Nothing other than my weekend

I think it’s tradition by now to write a summary of my weekend on a Sunday or a Monday. So here’s the weekly entry to bore you with the inane details of my life.

On Friday at 1 the whole year went to Hamlet in the Everyman. This was a rather painful experience that lasted three long hours, but I’ve pushed it to the back of my mind until I’m forced to recall it for some question or other. My parents decided to go out with friends on Friday night so I got to spend a fun night at home minding the child. Although, on the upside, they got me a Pádraigín’s speciality pizza for dinner so it wasn’t all that bad.

The consequences of them going out and getting drunk was none other than having to wait around for hours for a lift as my mother attempted to sleep off her hangover. Lightweight.

Wandering about the Crawford..

Eventually she arose, and I got a lift to town with her and met Aisling, Aisling and Hannah. We were wandering around when we passed the Crawford and saw that the new exhibition was open, and so popped in for a sconce around. The exhibition was by Backwater Artists Group and is well worth a look if you’re around Cork. And it’s free! We are such recessionistas, like!

When we left the Crawford though, it was beginning to drizzle, so the obvious spot to hide from the rain was our favourite coffee shop, and there we headed. The I text a friend, and he came up with another friend of his whom I last saw when I was in a rather merry state.

But there was nice chat and lots of laughing, until I accidentally broke a piece of wood off the counter we were sitting at. I had had my foot resting against it and it kind of just gave way. There was a bang, and I said in what was probably a rather high-pitched voice ‘Oh Jesus Christ what did I do?!’ and about a second later the guy working there also said ‘Oh Jesus Christ what did she do?!’ But only because he knows us, so I wasn’t offended or anything. And he came down to examine the damage, but we kind of just stuck the piece of wood back where it was, and it stayed, so I didn’t have to go washing the coffee cups or anything. Not that I’d have minded…

We then walked around town, talking, looking in shops, bumping into various people, avoiding others; just the usual. We sat on Grand Parade, watched a hobo play soccer with three other guys, helped Liam’s sister tidy up the coffee place she works in return for pain au chocolat and Danishes. Fair exchange I think. And we sat eating them, and eating Celebrations and telling stories of people and times gone by.

Dancinggg!

There was a bit of a conversation with a skinny skater dude involving an unwanted Danish, but we’ll just forget about that. Then I decided to go to this 18th that I’d be invited to. So I got the bus with Niamh and Ross and Nicole as far as it would go, and then had a bit of a trek to actually get to the party, but we got there fine. I got a little bit tipsy, talked to old people, talked to new people, danced, shouted, hugged and had a good night. It was a surprise portaay in a free gaff and the place got a bit wrecked, with one room looking like it had been attacked with glowing goo. Which it had been. There were alot of glowing Topshop clothes going home last night..

But it was a fun night, with a different crowd than I’m used to, which was nice for a change.

This morning was quite lovely too. I woke late-ish seeing as the clocks had gone forward, but I, unlike my mother the previous morning, managed to get up fine and we headed to Kinsale. I told her about my day in town, about the party, and she was cool about the ol’ Al.Co.Hol. Nice bitta trust developing there. Got behind the wheel for a bit then today, and I’ve hugely improved my starting the car, so my Easter driving is going according to plan.

Good weekend. Happy happy happy!

Leave a comment

Filed under weekend

Leave a Reply

