F*ck My Life

FML

No, this isn’t about the website. It’s about something very different; a show of sorts I suppose. Directed by Pol Heyvaert, F*ck My Life (FML) is one of the headliners at this year’s Cork Midsummer Festival. FML is more than just a play. It’s a statement from a group of young people on their thoughts, feelings and emotions. Last summer I had one of the best experiences of my life working with this show, but unfortunately have had to depart for the 2010 tour. Pol and Bart, the brains behind the show, invited us back to see what they’ve done so far and I was certainly impressed.

The play opens with the group of fourteen sitting, staring at the audience. The silence gives you a chance to look at these people, judge them and think about them. Over the course of an hour or so I learned so much about these individuals and their personalities. From the very moment the first words are spoken the audience are deeply engaged with the performers. At times it seems more like a chat than a  formal production, but this just adds to its charm. Every sentence is as important as they next and all the anecdotal stories tie together to give one final, shocking result.

Tickets are on sale now for the show which runs from the 24th of June to the 3rd of July. More information available at www.corkmidsummer.com

3 Comments

Filed under Cork

3 responses to “F*ck My Life

  1. Jeez, I was worried for a second when I saw the title, thought you were all down or something! Sounds like a cool show 🙂 x

  2. few of the people in my school/ year are performing in it and i cannot *wait* to see it! It sounds absolutely brilliant

  3. It’s so good already, so I can’t wait to see what they’ve done by June! I kinda regret not staying with the show, but that’s life. Wild guess that you’re in Ashton?

Leave a Reply

