News, some good, some bad.

I guess the pretty obvious bad news that emerged today is that of the death of Gerry Ryan. We were coming home from school and my mum had to park at the end of the driveway because there were vans and stuff in the way. My cousin the builder was doing some stuff down there, and he said he’d gotten a text that Gerry Ryan had died. This was seconded my some other workman person whom I’ve never seen before. Then I came inside and saw it on twitter, then irishtimes.com. It’s a shock to say the least. I mean I didn’t listen to his show that often, what with school and everything. But there’s no denying that he was a huge part of Irish radio and media, and undoubtedly he will be missed. He’s an inspiration to me in certain ways, as he did law in college, but went on to work in media. Rest in Peace, Gerry.

On a brighter note, today we got word of the nominations for the Irish Times SchoolMag competition. We were supposed to have known by March 26th, but things got delayed, and finally we were told today that we have been nominated for three awards. An overall award, and award for design, and an award for my article on Plugd. I first posted that article here actually, and then changed it around and adapted it for the magazine. So I was particularly pleased with that one, but the design one too as I did do alot of that myself. So I was happy out today. However, I was unusually quiet at tennis, because I had read over my Plugd article again, and it made me miss the place even more.. I’m glad that I’ve gotten to voice my opinion about it though, and that someone’s taken notice and actually thought it was good. It’s true what they say though, you should write about what you know.

I got a nice message from a nice person today too. Nothing spectacular, but they were just doing a small favour for me, and talking to them brought back good memories, and made me look forward to some other stuff too. It’s weird how you don’t talk to someone for a while, but their personality is so strong it’s like you were only talking to them yesterday. Or maybe that’s just because the year has flown by. Perhaps a mixture of both.

I’m tired now, so I think I might leave the laptop. I wish we had more books in this house.

And apologies for the lack of pictures. I’m feeling lazy.

Leave a comment

Filed under rambling

Leave a Reply

