Dublin trip!

I do realise it’s been an awfully long time since I last blogged, but I’ve been busy busy busy. Well it fells like that anyway, but I don’t seem to have done too much with all the time. Anyway, part of my busy-ness can be attributed to the ol’ trip to Dublin last Monday.

Ten of us, and one teacher, got the train to Dublin for the Irish Times School Mag awards ceremony. It was held in the Science Gallery in Trinity College. There was lots and lots of sandwiches, tea, coffee, Hunky Dorys (controversial!) and fruit. Because you have to provide fruit to make it look as though you encourage healthy eating. We had a look at the competition seeing as all the magazines were on display. Alot of good stuff there..

To cut a long story short, our magazine, Snap!, won three awards. We were runner-up in the Overall Magazine category, won an award for design, and I won an award for my article on the closure of Plugd. They showed this video of the judging process first, and the judges made comments on the magazines and whatnot. I think it was Louise Holden of The Irish Times mentioned three names as standing out for her writing-wise. One was mine. That was nice, very nice actually. I put alot of work into that magazine, and it makes it all worth it to hear professionals praise your work.

When it actually came around to handing out the awards Anthea McTiernan, acting editor of The Ticket supplement  of the Irish Times, spoke about my article again. She even went so far as to say I might have even covered the topic better than they did. She also said how I was clearly a customer and really got across the feeling of what Plugd was about. Apart from the fact that she was talking about my journalism skills, it was nice to hear someone say that who understood what Plugd was all about. And she told me to give them a call at The Ticket anytime. Although I probably couldn’t write about anything else like I did about Plugd.

On top of the lovely awards ceremony, we also got to go shopping, which is always a plus! We went to the usual places you go when in Dublin : Urban Outfitters, Topshop, American Apparel and so on. I got a cream vest in UO, and a navy dress in Zara for my brother’s confirmation on Monday. Possibly my favourite purchase though was The National’s new album ‘High Violet’ that I picked up in Road Records. The lovely Dave there gave me the poster for the album too, so I was well pleased. Only problem now is finding space for it on my wall…

3 Comments

Filed under life, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Dublin trip!

  1. Well done 🙂 Proud of ya!

  2. That makes me sound like SUCH a mother hen!

  3. Ha! Ah you are though =P

    And thanks 😀

Leave a Reply

