Dublin. Oh yes.

So I’m here. In the big shmoke. The capital fecking city.

Yesterday was possibly one of the most hectic days of my life. I started out at Kent station at abput 6.10am and got the half six train to Dublin. Next up was the Luas red line into the city centre, followed by a caramel latte in Starbucks on College Green and a read of the Irish Times Weekend Review. I am too cool.

I met Jill outside Trinity and we headed off to the office on Tara Street. Now you all know where I’ll be everyday and come stalk me. That’s a comforting thought. The morning was fairly class I have to say. We had a briefing session as to what we’d be doing, and then the girls got to go off shopping for a summer fashion piece. I know it sounds extremely fun (to any girls reading this at least), but it was quite stressful, I swear! Running from Grafton Street to Henry Street isn’t very relaxing..

In th afternoon we had a meeting with the production editor which gave us a nice insight into journalistic writing and editing. Finished up about 6, and then it was off to the DART station (still with all my bags and luggage) and off to the cousins’ house. I had a lovely dinner with them, followed by strawberries and ice-cream and some meringue too. Then tea. No day is complete without a cuppa tea at the end.

Today I was in the office for half 9. We went to two features meetings with all the important editorial people. I want to be a journalist. I love it. I could do it every day, even if it is a tad scary. I mean, other people, lots of them, reading your words. Then there was a little more shopping for tights, because I was being forced to model the clothes we had bought yesterday.

We also realised no-one had a pair of Converse, which were vital for our outfit. We walked to the Merrion to collect Jill’s Converse and it’s safe to say we nearly died. We weren’t wearing the most comfortable shoes and it was warm and we were in a rush. We grabbed a sandwich in O’Brien’s after, and being the cosmopolitan, sophisticated young women we are, we got a taxi back to the office.

Then it was off up to the roof for the photo shoot. It was sunny and lovely but my face was sore from smiling. I’m used to pose-y faces in photos, not smiling. Then I sent an email, made a few calls, had a root through the drawers under my desk to see could I find any treasures. I did find a few alright. A pen, a shorthand notebook…amazing treasures, eh?!

And back on the DART to Connolly, and then the commuter train to Castleknock. Headed to Superquinn, did a little shopping, and now we’re just about to put on the BBQ out on the balcony. Sun is shining, food is good, and I’m smiling.

Later folks!

4 Comments

Filed under today

4 responses to “Dublin. Oh yes.

  1. Nicole

    and where might these smiley photos be, hmmm? 🙂

    i’m from australia and i really do love reading your blog, and especially seeing all the photos (to check out the backgrounds and see how different everything is on your side of the world!)

  2. Well they just might appear in a travel supplement of a national paper…possibly!

    And thank you very much for reading my ramblings!

  3. Jill x

    Dear Niamh,

    Thank you ever so much for mentioning me in your blog 😛 i do hope that i will make regular appearances in the future! Our shopping expedition was sooo tiring but ridiculously fun! Our sprint to O’Connell street, up to the Merrion and the taxi back was defo the highlight of yesterday! I’ll act talk to you now act bout what we’re gonna do today for lunch in approx 5 seconds! 😀

    LOve, Jill x

  4. Sounds like you’re having a great adventure. Well done 🙂

Leave a Reply

