A leisurely morning…

It’s been a while since I’ve been into town super early and had a few hours to kill. Having a few hours to kill always makes it sound like you’ve nothing to do with your life and you’re a sad person. That’s not the case though. But I’m going to go ahead and justify my free hours anyway, by saying that if I hadn’t bothered going into town I’d have just been sleeping those hours away. I prefer to be up and about, even if it means I spend money on things I don’t need.

I started out by going to Gusto for one of their amazing raspberry scones and a large cappuccino. I sat there for over an hour probably, reading The Perks of Being a Wallflower. It was nice. The time sort of flew. I even bumped into someone I knew there, Darren, from Canadian arts company Mammalian Diving Reflex. I like that. Just sitting there, and then you see someone you know and have a quick chat. Eventually I left Gusto and wandered out onto the lonely streets.

Not really, but they were still pretty quiet. That’s the one thing that annoys me about Cork really. I just find it too quiet at times.. Whenever I’m in town with feck all to do and I’ve already had a fill of caffeine, I just go looking around shops. I bought a few bits in Topshop the other day so I didn’t need to look through that fecking shop again, but I did head into Oasis. They had a sale, which is what attracted me in in the first place. I got a green short sleeved t-shirt. It’s a really nice, almost silky, material and it strikes the perfect balance between fitted and loose. Happy.

Then I went to the Crawford art gallery, because I think appreciating art will  make me cool. I jest. Nah, I just like the building. It’s nice to wander around inside and just look at whatever exhibition is on. There’s no need to critically analyse every piece, but just kind of absorb all the stuff around you. It’s really peaceful too, which is nice. I love the contrast between the old collection and the newer exhibitions. You walk through those glass doors and it’s like a different world. The exhibition part is all clean, modern lines, high ceilings, quite minimalist. The older parts of the gallery are warmer colours, with plenty of wooden furniture. The art is, of course, hugely different too.

After that, I went to Easons. I don’t really know why, to look at books or something I guess? And I did end up buying some book, purely because it was €1.99. ‘We Are Gold’ I think it’s called.. Whatever, I wouldn’t even have a coffee for the price of it.

From there I headed over to Plugd to show Albert the article I wrote in the magazine that won the award. He seemed to like it. He laughed a few times, which is always a good sign, and he was pretty impressed with it overall too. Then I listened to some choons, and bought a Sea Lion CD. We had a nice chat, and then Albert told me I should rehydrate before my trek to Kinsale. Maybe he thought I was walking, ’cause getting the bus ain’t that hard.. Still though, I respected the wisdom of my elders and I went to M&S for their savage lemonade, and got a pack of crunchy granola bars in Tesco.

And then I went to Kinsale to work in the box office. It was a good day.

It crossed my mind at one stage though that I was perfectly content going for a coffee on my own, and wandering around a gallery. I know that some folk might find that a bit intimidating, or they just wouldn’t feel at ease on their own. Not in an oh-my-god-i’m-going-to-be-attacked-slash-abducted way, but just that they wouldn’t be able to enjoy their own company. I’m glad that I can sit on my own and just think, or drink coffee, or organise my week, or read a book, or just watch the world go by. We’re always in a rush, to meet someone, to do something, to get some where.

No harm in just stopping every once in a while.

Also, I’ve kind of given up on trying to find pictures for each post. It’s such a pain unless I’ve taken them myself, so you’ll just have to read the whole pf each post to actually see what it’s about. I mean, you hardly still read books with pictures, right? Why should a blog be any different…

4 Comments

Filed under today

4 responses to “A leisurely morning…

  1. Finally someone else who appreciates ‘me-myself-and-I time’.
    Nice post by the way. 🙂

  2. Nothin’ wrong with hanging out with yourself!

    And thank you 🙂

  3. Is Plugd back???

    I like ‘me time’ too 🙂

  4. ‘Fraid not.. You can still sorta buy stuff ’cause they sell tickets upstairs. They don’t order stuff in though.

Leave a Reply

