Pasta and lentil bake

I do like cooking, it’s just I rarely get a chance to try out new recipes, because I generally just eat whatever my mother makes, and lunches are a bit of a low-key affair. Like a slice of bread. So today I stayed at home because I had a ridiculous amount of stuff to do. Also, having the house to myself I could make a mess and no-one would care. So that’s exactly what I did. This here is my pasta and lentil bake. At least that’s what I’m calling it anyway.

My pasta and lentil bake..

I didn’t really get the recipe from anywhere. I guess it’s a mix of macaroni and cheese and this thing that my friend’s mum makes.  But here’s what I did if you’re interested.

Ingredients:

Breadcrumbs, penne pasta, Vegan gluten-free cheese-flavoured sauce mix, puy lentils, red lentils,  1/2 onion, 2 cloves garlic, broccoli, courgette, tomato puree, water, salt, pepper, mixed herbs.

Think that’s it anyway!

1. First of all, cook the puy lentils and red lentils. About 15 mins for the red and a bit more for the puy lentils. I’m useless at knowing how long to cook things for though, so don’t take my word on this bit.

2. Add olive oil, the chopped onion, garlic, courgette and broccoli to a saucepan and stir over a low-ish heat.

3. Next add the red lentils and puy lentils along with about 2 tablespoons of tomato puree and a little water.

4. After a few minutes add some salt, pepper and mixed herbs. Then transfer the mixture to an ovenproof dish.

5. Cook the pasta.

6. Make the cheese-flavoured sauce according to the instructions on the packet. Mix with the cooked pasta and spread on top of the lentil and vegetable mix in the dish.

7. Finally sprinkle breadcrumbs all over the pasta.

8. Cook at 180 degrees Celcius for about 20 minutes.

And voila!

Mmmm..

Whenever I’m cooking myself, I tend to do vegetarian dishes because I’m not a fan of red meat or even fish. Also, it’s far more likely that we’ll have the wherewithal for a vegetarian meal in the presses, but it’s not like I open the fridge and there’s a shelf of sirloin steaks and lamb shanks staring out at me.

I’m pretty sure this meal is vegan too, but please do correct me on this if I’m wrong. Usually it wouldn’t be vegan if you made your own cheese sauce, but my mum happened to have this sauce mis in the cupboard that she told me to use.

And to be honest, it was fairly savage and I’m pretty pleased with how it all turned out!

Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under food

2 responses to “Pasta and lentil bake

  1. Rae

    This sounds delicious! I will absolutely have to try this!! =)

Leave a Reply

