Stupid thoughts..

I got the urge to do a blog post there so I said I may as well take the opportunity to write a few lines. Having said that, be warned that it’s not going to be a literary masterpiece because all I want to do is ramble on about my bloody thoughts. So boring I know. One of these days I’ll start writing about proper, relevant things that people actually want to read, but until then click here to be brought to my so-called ‘portfolio’ where you can read some semi-proper stuff I wrote. Not like this rambly shite.

I went out last night. ‘Twas a friend’s eighteenth. I love house parties. And it was good craic, because I didn’t know a whole load of people there, which is sometimes better, because it’s like an escape from the usual stuff. It was sorta fancy dress, but I didn’t make much of an effort. I wore a top with a skull on it. I was a skeleton. But to be fair, the majority hadn’t made much effort. I love and loathe fancy dress parties. I hate finding a costume and deciding what to go as, but if you do manage an alright outfit, it’s good for striking up conversations.

Alcohol’s good for that too though. Lose your inhibitions and all that. Box of 24 Miller in Dunnes for eighteen bucks. Recession-busting partying right there. That works out at 75c a bottle! It’s like €4 for one bottle in Centra, which is fucking crazy when you think about it. Bought a lime too. 37c like. Grand.

Came home last night a bit drunk. Fairly drunk. It’s all relative. And because I think I have an internet addiction I ended up on the mighty Facebook around 2am and we all know that’s a bad idea. Nah, I like drunken FB conversations. It’s like the one time that you feel you can talk to anyone and everyone on the bloody thing. Facebook rant coming soon I would think. Anyway, someone was good enough to put up with me and my drunken emotional rambling. One of these days, I’ll have an epiphany during one of those chats. Maybe I have already.

Maybe what I’m gonna say now is all ridiculously obvious, but I’ll say it anyway. I don’t think it’s worth writing about, but I’ve fuck all else to say so this is just going to have to do.

Sometimes you can get sick of those around you. You begin taking people for granted purely because you’ve never had to live without them. Now and then, you might even think that you’d be better off if you just left the past behind and moved forward to a completely new life. But I think I realise that’s wrong, and it’s a pretty idealistic view of life and relationships. It’s not like you can just ‘be’ friends with someone. That’s not friendship. You have to work at it, and get through the good times and the bad. Everyone gets bored, people change, but you just have to learn to accept that and adapt.

I can be a bitch. Wait, I am a bitch. Now and again, I think I’m more important than anyone else. But I don’t mean it. I just appear to think that’s the case, but really, that’s not how I feel at all. Maybe it’s a defence mechanism when I’m not feeling as great and as happy about life as I usually am. Do I try to make myself feel better by distancing myself from those closest to me? That’s not a good plan of action, but I still do it because I want to.

So having established that I need to keep my friends closer than I’m currently doing, I’m also going to say that you need variety. It’s the spice of life, right? I really enjoy nights out with people other than my closest circle of friends, and I think I’m really lucky to have that. Teenagers are so bloody clique-y that they rarely go out to a pub or a club or to a party without at least a few people from their own group. Maybe family’s supposed to provide the other outlet, but I don’t think family compares to friends. They’re just too different.

I actually haven’t a clue where I’m going with this, but I guess that’s what constitutes rambling. God forbid I should ever be coherent.

I give up here. I got a few lines typed and that’s all I wanted to do so I’m happy.

If you got this far, congratulations. You deserve a medal. Or a bun.

Maybe both..

2 Comments

Filed under rambling

2 responses to “Stupid thoughts..

  1. wika57

    wheres my medal ? 😀

  2. Hehe! Well done, I’m impressed.. I have one here for you like.. 😀

Leave a Reply

